I have to say, it’s a good thing that I really like eggs as I have been eating a lot of them since our Tahoe trip. Most of the eggs were boiled until the yolks were just solidified and added to a salad. Some I made into single portion deviled eggs (my love of deviled eggs is well documented and knows no bounds). And then I took the great advice from the last post and used a whole bunch of them to make this quiche.

I dare not test my cholesterol anytime soon.

I have always liked quiche, though I tend to like them the most when there is a good crust-to-filling ratio. I’m all about the crust-to-filling ratio. I find that I’m still learning a lot about the things I like and the things I don’t like but at least I always hold true to my convictions.

Case in point, I like crispy breakfast foods. I like my bacon to be so crispy it shatters if you pick it up wrong. I like my biscuits to be browner than normal so they have some bite (rather than being doughy). I like my waffles to be crunchy and light, like buttery toast. I like crispy breakfast foods.

On the other side of the spectrum, I hate noodles in broth. My theory stems back to childhood road trips to visit my grandmother in New York. To prepare for the loooooooongOMG trip back home, my parents would pick up what they called won ton soup. It looked like this:

I should chime in here and say that I get really terrible motion sickness.  About two hours into the trip, my parents would pull over at a picnic area and we would eat this for lunch.  After awhile (I’m talking like 10 years), we started varying what we ate for lunch but the damage was done.  To this day, I cannot eat any kind of noodles in broth.  Pho, ramen, won ton soup – they are all big fat no’s in my book.

So believe me when I say that crust-to-filling ratio is very important to me and that I am quite consistent about it.  I love crust so the lower the ratio, the better.  Take, for example, Chinese dan ta, which is basically like a quiche without the savory ingredients.  I will not eat a dan ta if it takes more than 2 bites to consume.  I’m not talking two Martin bites either.  I mean two Melanie bites.  That amounts to basically a mini cupcake pan’s size dan ta.

When we were in Paris this past summer, one of my favorite memories was walking along some random street in Paris and picking some random bakery to buy lunch based on the goods displayed in their store window.  I chose a thick slice of salmon quiche, the kind that comes from a 9″ deep dish pie pan, if you can see where this is going.  Martin and I took our goodies to a small road-side park across the street from the Moulin Rouge and proceeded to munch away.  I will admit, the quiche was quite tasty but the whole time I kept thinking, “Damn, this is a lot of filling.  And a lot of salmon.”  It was a less than ideal crust-to-filling ratio.

So I’m thinking if I don’t start talking about quiche, I will have to rename this post to something like “Melanie’s Random and Esoteric Quirks.  OMG, seriously?”  And we don’t want that, do we?  So let’s talk about quiche!

This meal pulled together so quickly, thanks to a lot of shortcuts.  Really, the longest parts of this dish were waiting for the puff pastry to thaw out and for the quiche to bake.  And possibly to clean up the kitchen because I try to be a clean-as-I-go-er but if I’m in a hurry (as I was the night I made this), it’s more like let’s-make-the-kitchen-look-like-an-earthquake-hit-it.  A legitimate possibility, given that we live in California, except for the whole “explaining why only our kitchen was affected” dealio.

So, first I used puff pastry as a lazy man’s crust and a rectangular tart pan (crust-to-filling ratio, eeeet eeeez impoooortant!!).  Brushed it with a bit of Dijon, dropped a generous handful of cheese on top, topped with browned sausage and frozen spinach that had been reheated in the microwave.  Covered in eggs and heavy cream that had been whisked together with seasoning and ta da!  Easy peasy lemon squeezy.  A great weekday meal.  If you also happen to have 3 dozen eggs in your refrigerator, I wholeheartedly recommend the quiche route.

