Yesterday, I had a craving like no other for a blueberry muffin.  Warm from the oven, spread with a little lemon curd or butter – I thought I might cry if I didn’t get to eat a muffin.  Sadly, I had no blueberries and the stores were closed.  So I decided to be patient (ha!) and nicely asked Martin to buy me some blueberries on the way home from work today.  He did (ain’t I lucky?) and YESOMG:

MUFFINS.

I used these snack cups, which I love for their plain style and that they’re sturdy enough for free standing baking.  The mini size (shown here) make these adorable muffins an awesome two-bite snack.

Unrelatedly, one of my oldest friends, Megan, had a theory about muffins, which is to say that the kind of muffin you like directly correlates to the kind of sex you like.  Oatmeal bran muffins?  Boring, unimaginative (healthy?) sex.  Banana espresso chocolate muffin?  Spicy, possibly risque sex.  I think you get the picture.  I wonder what she would say about blueberry.

This recipe is one I mashed together from a bunch of different ones so I’ll post it below.  The sugar topping adds a great caramelized crunch to the muffins.  The only thing missing, in my opinion, was a stronger hint of cinnamon so I’ll add a good pinch of that to the batter next time.  Otherwise, guys, it’s love for these little muffins.  And I hope you love them too.

Blueberry Muffins

90 g all purpose flour
90 g white whole wheat flour
150 g granulated sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 cup fresh blueberries
Topping:
65 g brown sugar
15 g all purpose flour
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
1 tbsp melted butter

1-  Whisk together flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and cinnamon together in a medium sized bowl.

2-  Put vegetable oil in a measuring cup and add the egg.  Fill the remaining cup measure with buttermilk (will be approx 1/2 cup).

3-  Drizzle liquid onto flour mixture and gently fold.  Before the liquid is completely incorporated, add blueberries and fold gently until all dry ingredients are absorbed.  Be careful not to overwork the batter.

4-  Fill cupcake tins about half full.  For mini sized muffin cups, use a heaping cookie scoop full (approx. 2 tbsp or 1/8 cup).

5-  Melt butter.  Mix together brown sugar, flour and cinnamon.  Drizzle in melted butter and whisk together until melted.

6-  Sprinkle on top of the muffins.

7-  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean, about 15 minutes.

Servings:  17 mini muffins

