Last night, I was going to make salmon but Martin decided last minute that he didn’t want it. Rifling through my cabinets, I noticed I had all the ingredients for Kjersti’s “Crock Pot Chicken,” with two notable exceptions: a crock pot and zesty dry Italian dressing. I figured a big pot that I watched over would do the trick and quickly thaw out my frozen chicken but what about the dressing?

There was only one solution: the Internets! I knew they wouldn’t fail me. One time, I stumbled across a recipe for a “Taco Seasoning” substitute. If there was a taco seasoning substitute, there had to be a dry Italian dressing substitute. Had to be! I declared there had to be and now I was going to find it.

Luckily for my bold declaration, there was. I’m posting it here for future reference and in case other people want to add a little zesty dry Italian to their meal. The original recipe called for salt but it was definitely way too salty that way, so I have omitted it completely in this rendition. And very nicely, too, you most likely have all the herbs needed already to make this mix. So save yourself the $2 / packet and make it yourself!

I will post the chicken dish later, which would have been heaven on a plate except it was way too salty.

Dry Italian Dressing Substitute

1-½ tsp. garlic powder
1 tbsp. onion powder
2 tbsp. oregano
1 tbsp. dried parsley
1 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. black pepper
1 tsp. ground basil
¼ tsp. thyme
½ tsp. dried celery leaves

1/ Measure out all ingredients and combine in bowl. Use in place of Zesty Dry Italian Dressing packet.

2/ To make dressing: Mix 2 tbsp. of mix with ¼ cup vinegar, 2 tbsp. water and ½ to ⅔ cup olive oil.

Servings: 1 packet